Skip to content

Reviews

Free Trip to Egypt

Free Trip to Egypt

October 6, 2019

Free Trip to Egypt is a documentary film project dreamed up by Egyptian-Canadian-Swiss software entrepreneur, Tarek Mounib.

Read More
dumpling house

On Ducks and Dumplings

September 9, 2018

Recent dining adventures in Portland, OR and Vancouver, BC

Read More
hope in the dark - rebecca solnit

My Year of (few) Books: 2017

January 1, 2018

As 2017 ends and the next year begins, a a brief summary of books read in the past year. It’s a shorter list than usual.

Read More
bookpile

My Year of Books: 2016

January 2, 2017

Another year, another stack of #95books, or as near to it as I get.

Read More

My Year of Books: 2015

December 31, 2015

I spent another year tweeting my books using the #95books hashtag. I shall herewith provide the summary for 2015.

Read More
Limiters - Christopher Stoddard

‘Limiters’ by Christopher Stoddard

May 9, 2014

A review of Christopher Stoddard‘s second novel “Limiters” (ITNA Press).

Read More
stag library

A bright light in Strathcona

April 7, 2014

I was very happy this weekend to discover The Strathcona Art Gallery and Library.

Read More

My Year of Books: 2013

January 1, 2014

(partial list) The End of San Francisco, Mattilda Bernstein Sycamore (July 21) Humanimal: A Project for Future Children, Bhanu Kapil (Jul 20) Basmati Brown: paths, passages, cross and open, Phinder Dulai (May 23) Tango: My Childhood, Backwards and in High Heels, Justin Vivian Bond (May 22) Ink on Paper, Brad Cran (May 16) Hello Cruel…

Read More

‘The Suiciders’ by Travis Jeppesen

November 29, 2013

The Suiciders tells the story of seven young men “permanently in their late teens.” Zach, Lukas, Adam, Matthew, Peter, Arnold, and Taylor are outsiders squatting together in abandoned house in an unnamed American suburb. They decide to take a “road trip to the end of the world,” a conceit from which the title is drawn and on which the plot is constructed.

Read More
‘Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders’ by Samuel R. Delany

‘Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders’ by Samuel R. Delany

June 26, 2012

One of the perks of fiction reviewing is that it often forcibly exposes me to books that might not organically enter my sphere of attention. Like many, I suspect, I not-so-intentionally choose culture that reinforces rather than challenges my pre-conceived ideas about the world in which I live, I do wish to stretch beyond the safe, boring familiarity of my comfort zone. Samuel R. Delany’s new novel Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders (Magnus Books) is certainly a book capable of assisting with that goal.

Read More

‘What You See in the Dark’ by Manuel Muñoz

April 20, 2012

Set primarily in the late 1950s in the California town of Bakersfield, the novel juxtaposes the circumstances of a small town romance that goes horribly wrong beside a fictional account of the making of Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho (part of which was filmed in Bakersfield).

Read More